top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureRuth Langley

New Creation

"Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, the new creation has come: The old has gone, the new is here!" 2 Corinthians 5:17

Careening shaft: wild, accurate.

I fall--

skin splits, quivering and hot.

You leave? You? Leave?

Is that love?

Or do you wait and watch me

die?

Is that worse?

Eyes flutter shut.

Death embraces.

Gasps choke, stopping.

Stillness.

Death.

But you’ve waited.

Watched me

with eyes spilling

anger, mercy, love.

Love.

You reach down.

Humble power.

Slowly, a new form follows

your hand, rising

out of corpse.

New creation.

Old dead;

New alive.

New has come!

26 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Lol?

I couldn't think of any other title for this poem... Yes, romantic desperadoes visit the Chick-Fil-A drive-thru sometimes. My most dramatic flirt-story to date! And no, I have never figured out how on

Trails

When I'm overwhelmed, I rant. But maybe I need to stop ranting so much and just pray more. In the past month God has tattooed 1 Peter 5:7 into me: "Cast your cares upon Him, because He cares for you."

Evening Renewal

(Poetic form: heroic couplets, iambic pentameter) I, weary from the day's events, retreat With symptomatic inner ache, to meet My Best Friend halfway in the honey-light Under a quiet lamp. Oh, but

bottom of page