top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureRuth Langley

Trails

When I'm overwhelmed, I rant. But maybe I need to stop ranting so much and just pray more. In the past month God has tattooed 1 Peter 5:7 into me: "Cast your cares upon Him, because He cares for you." "Casting" doesn't mean just throwing up your hands and turning your back on what worries you. It means prayerful, continuous, conscious, worshipful relinquishing of whatever comes between you and the Father. Idols, worries, fears, insecurities, sins. It takes time and repetition and scraping the bottom of your soul for more faith, but the utter FREEDOM and JOY that it brings is beyond words.

These days (this week) in early morning light

I've driven to a trail some miles away

and walked and wondered, awed, with all my might

and while in nature's presence, I've learned to pray.

It started as a peaceful stare,

this soaking-in of green and gold.

Trembling emerald leaves, up where

their canopy framed the sky, would hold

my gaze and whisper secrets on the wind.

I'd trace the creek, running dark and cold

through the trees, hearing its gurgling rush send

trills of wet harmony into this chorus so old--

birds sing, sing. The wind. The water. Footsteps.

Crunch of gravel, squeal of squirrel, plump of rain.

Birds sing, sing. The wind. The water. Footsteps.

Old, yes. But tapping in time to its refrain,

the footsteps of God echoed on the floor of my soul.

He knew I'd come to talk. But not to him--

I came to rant and ram my thoughts into their hole

they'd peeked out of that week. A whim

wasn't enough to pull me out of bed to go

trek these trails in chilly autumn air.

The voices in my head--incessant, low,

and bumbling--knew I didn't

care to worship. Not right here, not now.

So they chattered and I mimicked loud,

until... I crossed the parking lot,

and stood, all silently suddenly bowed

over the edge of a sing-song spot

of creek, and then the peaceful stare

and soaking in of green and gold

shut me right up, seemed to dare

me to speak--me, this cold

thankless narcissistic beast.

Birds sing, sing. The wind. The water. Footsteps.

A prod.

The Holy Spirit's good at that--

at slipping into that little niche of warmth that lets

him in and then I'm vulnerable and the

rhythm's all gone and I can't remember

the last rhyme.

I ask when did I ever

actually control my life?

When did I ever fall into HIS control?

"The trail," he says quietly.

"Keep walking."

Psalm 116:7

"The LORD has dealt bountifully with you."

Falling.

So I walk these trails and fight to walk in Christ--

some days I know they're one and the same

(the walking)

and go wild in the woods because JOY.

Some days I smear tears into my sweatshirt,

and give up.

And when I give up--

that's where

weakness caves into grace,

grace upon grace upon grace,

and I'm held as a faithful Father

carries me

down trails of mercy.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Lol?

I couldn't think of any other title for this poem... Yes, romantic desperadoes visit the Chick-Fil-A drive-thru sometimes. My most dramatic flirt-story to date! And no, I have never figured out how on

Evening Renewal

(Poetic form: heroic couplets, iambic pentameter) I, weary from the day's events, retreat With symptomatic inner ache, to meet My Best Friend halfway in the honey-light Under a quiet lamp. Oh, but

bottom of page