top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureRuth Langley

Lol?

I couldn't think of any other title for this poem... Yes, romantic desperadoes visit the Chick-Fil-A drive-thru sometimes. My most dramatic flirt-story to date! And no, I have never figured out how on earth he got my number.

"Hey, you." Winks. Again?

Cringing, I wangle out stiff smile,

hand him coins, wishing

red and black was camouflage.

"You're cute." Well.

"Like, wow. You're not from around here?" Wish he'd drive on, but he does

not.

You sleazy freak

I groan inside,

but he doesn't hear. They never do.

Ends up he asks if I'm

cuffed up

*had to look that up on

urban dictionary later*

and if I'd go out with him that night.

He gets a very sturdy "No,"

(is spared the rest)

and he drives off shrieking

my name into the parking lot,

down the road,

into the red light,

bless his soul.

Rubbing my temples,

I pull out a smile

for the next guest.

At home, five giggling sisters are entertained.

I?

Am not.

Because he's followed me home.

Sits there in the palm of my hand,

empty words and

crying-laughing emoji

hiccuping out of an

innocent grey text bubble.

I pop it.

He never blows another.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Trails

When I'm overwhelmed, I rant. But maybe I need to stop ranting so much and just pray more. In the past month God has tattooed 1 Peter 5:7 into me: "Cast your cares upon Him, because He cares for you."

Evening Renewal

(Poetic form: heroic couplets, iambic pentameter) I, weary from the day's events, retreat With symptomatic inner ache, to meet My Best Friend halfway in the honey-light Under a quiet lamp. Oh, but

bottom of page